Václav Havel Bust Will Be Dedicated on November 19, 2014

A bust of Václav Havel, the first president of the Czech Republic, will be dedicated at a U.S. Capitol ceremony on Wednesday, November 19. After the dedication in National Statuary Hall, the bust will be added to the Capitol’s Freedom Foyer, joining Winston Churchill, Lajos Kossuth, Abraham Lincoln, and George Washington.

Václav Havel Bust

The announcement was made by John Boehner, Speaker of the House, on September 22, 2014.

The bust will be unveiled by Mrs. Dagmar Havlova after remarks by John Boehner, Speaker of the House, Nancy Pelosi, Minority Leader, Congressman Ed Royce and Senator Robert Menendez. Jan Hamacek, Speaker of the Chamber of Deputies of the Parliament of the Czech Republic, Bohuslav Sobotka, Prime Minister of the Czech Republic, and other U.S. and Czech politicians and dignitaries will attend the dedication.

Through the prodigious efforts of Elliot Berke and Milton Cerny, members of the VHLF Board of Directors, the US House of Representatives passed a bipartisan resolution honoring President Václav Havel on March 11, 2014.

The author of the bust is Czech-American sculptor Lubomir Janecka.

Statement by Congressman Ed Royce

Statement by House Speaker John Boehner

Press release of House Speaker John Boehner

Lubomir Janecka

The Vaclav Havel Center